Dermatology Foundation

Founded in 1964

What's New?
The Dermatology Foundation

Established in 1964, the Foundation is a 501(c)3 charitable organization dedicated to enabling advancements in patient care. The DF accomplishes this important work by providing research funding each year to promising early and mid-career investigators whose novel ideas have the potential to shape the future of the specialty.

Thanks to its many physician members and industry constituents over more than five decades, the DF funding has had a tremendous long-term effect on the specialty. Foundation support has helped to:

  • Deepen our understanding of diseases and conditions including psoriasis, atopic dermatitis, inflammatory dermatoses, and autoimmune skin diseases.
  • Develop innovations including topical therapies for skin cancer, outcomes research, and biologic therapies.
  • Keep talented researchers working in our field by supporting their work at critical points where private funding is the key to their continued success.

With the continued support of dermatologists, specialty societies and corporate supporters, the DF can continue to further progress in all areas of the specialty, for the benefit of patients everywhere.

Janet A. Fairley, M.D.
Janet A. Fairley, M.D.
An Update from Dr. Janet A. Fairley

Dear Friends and Members,

I wanted to share some exciting news with you. This spring the Dermatology Foundation announced the 2021 DF Research Awards, with more than $2.7M granted to 59 researchers across 28 areas of investigation!

These awards are made possible with support from our dedicated friends and members like you. Your gift to the Dermatology Foundation is an investment in the future of dermatology promoting scientific research leading to discoveries that advance all aspects of the specialty.

As we heard from Dr. Jeremy Bordeaux recently on our Seaside Chats: “Support from the DF laid the groundwork for my career and really helped get me to where I am today. Thank you to the Foundation and those who support it, making research awards possible for me and others.”

More promising research awaits funding. Join us and make a donation today. Together, we can find the cures and treatments advancing dermatology that improve patient care.

Thank you for your support.

Janet A. Fairley, MD

Dermatology Touches Everyone
Support the
Dermatology Foundation
Board of Trustees
Executive Committee
Elizabeth I. McBurney, M.D.
Chair, Board of Trustees
Janet A. Fairley, M.D.
Sewon Kang, M.D.
Vice President
Renée J. Mathur, M.D.
Members at Large:
Yvonne E. Chiu, M.D.
George Cotsarelis, M.D.
Stuart R. Lessin, M.D.
Kishwer S. Nehal, M.D.
John T. Seykora, M.D., Ph.D.
Michael D. Tharp, M.D.
Jonathan S. Weiss, M.D.
Bruce U. Wintroub, M.D.
Ronald R. Brancaccio, M.D.
Bruce A. Brod, M.D.
Jennifer C. Cather, M.D.
Misty D. Caudell, M.D.
Emily Y. Chu, M.D., Ph.D.
Karen Connolly, M.D.
M. Laurin Council, M.D.
Connor P. Dolehide, M.D.
Eric S. Fromer, M.D.
Lisa A. Garner, M.D.
William W. Huang, M.D., M.P.H.
Stephen Klinger M.D.
Carrie L. Kovarik, M.D.
Joseph C. Kvedar, M.D.
Keith G. LeBlanc, Jr., M.D.
John C. Maize, Jr., M.D.
Megan H. Noe, M.D., M.P.H.
Jack S. Resneck, Jr., M.D.
Frankie G. Rholdon M.D.
Kathleen S. Stokes, M.D.
Karolyn A. Wanat, M.D.
Ashley Wysong, M.D., M.S.
Kim B. Yancey, M.D.
John E. Bournas
Executive Director
Christine M. Boris
Deputy Executive Director
Jim Struthers
Director of Development
Beth Rankin
Program Associate
Alejandra Lule-Rivera
Office Operations Associate
Contact Us
1560 Sherman Avenue
Suite 500
Evanston, IL 60201-4806
Phone: (847) 328-2256
Fax: (847) 328-0509
Send Email